This subject guide provides information about resources that will help you prepare for the GED test. The guide includes a list of local Birmingham organizations and institutions that offer classes, as well as links to internet websites, library databases, and books available at public libraries in Jefferson County.
The Dannon Project - Occupational Training Programs
The Dannon Project provides numerous occupational training opportunities for participants that are between the ages of 18 -24 and are seeking to improve their employment readiness skills and their economic situation including ABE (Adult Basic Education) Tutoring and GED testing.
Jefferson State Community College
Jefferson State Community College offers the following GED preparation resources: • FREE instructional assistance to help you prepare to take the GED. • Customized, individualized and targeted instruction to maximize your learning experience. • Instructional materials are provided at no cost to you. • Tuition assistance is provided for the GED Ready practice test and the GED test when you meet specific requirements. • One FREE college course can be earned by passing the GED test. • Flexible class schedules and various locations allow you to choose a class that works for you. Classes are provided throughout Jefferson, Shelby, and St. Clair counties.
Lawson State Community College
The Lawson State Community College Adult Education and Skills Training Programs seek to provide accessible and quality adult education services that will enable adult individuals to become literate, employable, and productive citizens for the workforce. High School Equivalency GED® classes are open to anyone over 18 who has not completed high school or obtained a GED®. In special circumstances, a 16- or 17-year-old may be allowed to enroll in the GED® program.
The Learning Center is a Christ-centered ministry dedicated to transforming lives and building a community of hope through education. They offer courses for adults (18 and older) who want to get their GED. Their programs range from reading lessons to GED classes or job training skills.
Literacy Council of Central Alabama
The Literacy Council offers free GED classes in partnership with Jefferson State Community College. Call 205-326-1925 for more information.
M-Power Ministries operates a year-round GED Program with two 12-week semesters and three mini-semesters. Classes offered include Language, Math, Science, Social Studies, Computer, Bible Study, Faith & Finances, and various life skills courses. Students who test above a certain grade level are offered a place in an online GED preparation program, GED Academy.
The Salvation Army of Greater Birmingham Area Command
The Birmingham Salvation Army's Education & Workforce Development Center provides a range of administrative, counseling, and supportive services through its partners and partnering agencies. Services include education and workforce assessments, education and career counseling, basic life skills training, pre-GED and literacy assessments, GED courses with a diploma option, vocational training, certification opportunities, job placement, and associate degree programs.
Alabama Community College System - Adult Education
The Alabama Community College System's Adult Education division is your no cost, one-stop-shop to get your GED or high school equivalency, Job Training, ESL and Family Literacy services. The GED is the General Education Diploma that is similar to a high school diploma. Colleges and employers often require either a GED or high school diploma before you qualify to go to school or work. That’s where Alabama’s community colleges come in to fill the gap! Our colleges offer you local, flexible, and online training for free.
GED Testing Service is the administrator of the GED test, the four-subject high school equivalency exam that is internationally accepted by colleges and employers. In order to earn their GED high school equivalency credential, individuals must pass each of the four (4) content area tests with a score of 145 or higher. The four tests cover the following content areas: Reasoning through Language Arts, Social Studies, Science and Mathematical Reasoning. On the GED Testing Service website, you can schedule to take the GED online, either from your home or at an official GED testing center. The website is also a source of infomation about GED study material and GED practice tests.
The GED Testing Service is the official online resource to prepare for and earn your high school equivalency diploma. The site includes multiple practice test and study options that can be purchased for a fee. There are, however, shorter practice tests for all four GED subjects that can be accessed for free.
Kaplan has been published test preparation books for many years, but they now also have a robust set of products that they offer online for a fee.
Use Test-Guide's free GED practice tests to pass your GED exam. These actual GED questions and answers will prepare you for the official GED exam. The free online GED sample exams include immediate scoring, answer explanations - and no registration. Practice tests are one of the best ways to prepare for the actual exam.
We bring you Free GED practice exams with one goal in mind: to empower you with the knowledge and confidence to ace the exam and earn your equivalency diploma. We want students to attain the best GED test scores with ease and the only way to earn this is to get access to the best GED practice tests and online GED study guide prepared by education experts.
UGO prep was created to help people just like you achieve their dreams. We study exam behaviors for a living so that we can create the most effective test preps on the market. We believe test preps should be fast, simple and most importantly affordable. We always stand by our 100% pass or money back guarantee. The GED course is for you if your desire is to quickly prepare and pass your GED exam. We designed our study package for people who don't know what to study or how to get started. This course covers everything you need to know for this years GED exam. Nothing more, nothing less. Most resources are available for a fee, but the site does include some free practice tests and tutuorial videos.
The Union Test Prep website provides GED practice tests, flashcards, and study guides for free.
Skill-building and test preparation materials for standardized tests. Interactive practice exams based on official exams. Scoring and analysis of practice test responses. Basic skills, college preparatory, civil service, GED, and some specific careers. Career Preparation - Make your work goals a reality—start a new career or advance in your current field. High School Equivalency Center - Guided support and preparation to help you earn a high school equivalency credential. College Admissions Test Preparation - Prepare for important exams like the ACT®, SAT®, AP® Tests, and more. School Center - Skill-building resources for classroom and homework success. College Students - Achieve your undergrad goals and prepare for future success. Adult Core Skills - Achieve your personal education and career goals. Computer Skills Center - Video courses to learn popular software and computer basics. Recursos Para Hispanohablantes - Herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español.
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.