Description from Lakeshore:
Recommended Age
4 yrs. - 5 yrs. / Pre-K - Kindergarten
Description
As children play our exciting folder games, they get independent, hands-on practice with letter sounds, sight-words, rhyming and more!
Each library features 10 self-checking folder games covering 5-7 essential language skills. Students select a game and the corresponding pouch of game pieces...then just follow the picture instructions for tons of skill-building fun. Plus, all the pieces come precut and sorted—so there’s no prep work required! Complete set includes all 4 libraries shown, for a total of 40 games. Libraries each come in a storage box; folders measure 9 1/4" x 11 5/8".
Item # FF195X
WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD - Small parts. Not for children under 3 years.
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
Descriptions from Lakeshore:
Recommended Age
5 yrs. - 6 yrs. / Kindergarten - 1st gr.
Description
As students discover opposites in an adventure around town and sort fish in a sea of vowel sounds...
they independently master reading skills hands on! Each of our ready-to-use libraries includes 10 exciting and unique folder games, each with easy-to-follow, illustrated instructions so students can simply grab a game and start playing—then check their answers when they’re finished! Complete set includes all 4 libraries shown, each with a teacher’s guide that includes a reproducible assessment for tracking student progress. Folders measure 9 1/4" x 11 5/8". Each library also available separately. Read Less
Item # PP520X
Additional Information
Develops skills in language, foundational reading, phonological awareness, vocabulary, and phonics & word recognition.
WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD - Small parts. Not for children under 3 years.
Power Pen Quiz Cards
Recommended Age
5 yrs. - 7 yrs. / Kindergarten - 2nd gr.
Description
Here’s a super-engaging way to build phonics skills...
with instant reinforcement! Students just touch an answer on these quiz cards with the special pen…and the pen tells them whether they’re right or wrong. Each card pack comes with 53 double-sided quiz cards, plus an answer key. You get all 6 packs shown, for a total of 318 cards. Cards measure 3 1/2" x 5 1/2".
Item # BD540X
Additional Information
Develops skills in short vowels, long vowels, consonants, word families, reading readiness, blends and digraphs.
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
Description from Lakeshore:
Recommended Age
7 yrs. - 8 yrs. / 2nd gr. - 3rd gr.
Description
What better way to boost reading and writing skills than with super-appealing games that students love to play!
Each library includes 10 different self-checking games that get children excited about learning—from using context clues to identifying point of view. Best of all, the games come ready to play: Students just grab a folder filled with everything they need for independent practice, then follow the simple instructions to build skills at their own pace!
Item # RR795X
Additional Information
Develops skills in reading literature, reading informational text, comprehension, language, grammar and writing, phonics and language, and vocabulary.
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
Description from Lakeshore:
Recommended Age
9 yrs. - 10 yrs. / 4th gr. - 5th gr.
Description
From Super Bike Speedway—where kids race to make inferences...
to Super Spy—where analyzing text structure is a covert operation—our folder games target key reading and writing standards while keeping kids engaged! Each library includes 10 unique folder games—perfect for independent practice! Students just grab a folder filled with everything they need, then follow the simple 3-step instructions on the front. Best of all, the activities are self-checking…for instant reinforcement!
Item # AA790X
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
Description from Lakeshore:
Recommended Age
4 yrs. - 6 yrs. / Pre-K - 1st gr.
Description
Our ready-to-use centers make independent learning a breeze—even for nonreaders! The centers have everything children need to build beginning language skill...
from word building and rhyming sounds to sight-word recognition. Just set out the materials, introduce the activity…and let students work at their own pace. Each center is designed for up to 4 children to work at once, with a double-sided instruction chart that gives everyone easy access to the activities…and simple picture instructions students can follow on their own.
Item # TT830X
Additional Information
Develops skills in rhyming sounds, beginning sounds, story sequencing, letter recognition, building words, syllable counting, sight-words and simple sentences.
WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD - Small parts. Not for children under 3 years.
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
This kit has four games of an eight game set so if you do not see some of the skills games listed in the description, please look for them in Instant Learning Games Kit 2.
Description from Lakeshore:
Recommended Age
4 yrs. - 6 yrs. / Pre-K - 1st gr.
Description
Our ready-to-use centers make independent learning a breeze—even for nonreaders! The centers have everything children need to build beginning language skills...
...from word building and rhyming sounds to sight-word recognition. Just set out the materials, introduce the activity…and let students work at their own pace. Each center is designed for up to 4 children to work at once, with a double-sided instruction chart that gives everyone easy access to the activities…and simple picture instructions students can follow on their own.
Item # TT830X
Additional Information
Develops skills in rhyming sounds, beginning sounds, story sequencing, letter recognition, building words, syllable counting, sight-words and simple sentences.
WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD - Small parts. Not for children under 3 years.
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
This kit contains 4 games of a 8 game set. If you do not see some of the skill games listed, then please look for Instant Learning Games Kit 1 .
Description from Lakeshore:
Recommended Age
7 yrs. - 10 yrs. / 2nd gr. - 5th gr.
Description
Students master the basics of written and spoken English—with 8 different excitement-filled games! Each game targets a specific skill in grammar, vocabulary or usage...
and features a super-simple format that students can easily pick up and play in pairs or small groups—from a memory matching game with idioms and their meanings to a game of “Go Fish” with singular and plural nouns. Each game even includes an answer card for easy self-checking, plus enough materials for up to 4 players at once! You get a set of 8 games, all in an 11 7/8" box.
Item # LL584
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
Description from hand2mind:
This toolkit helps teachers introduce hands-on routines to their phonemic awareness, phonics, fluency, and vocabulary instruction. Highlights:
Each student kit includes:
CHOKING HAZARD! Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.
| Grade Level | K, 1, 2 |
|---|
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
escriptions from Amazon:
hand2mind Learn to Read with BOB Books & VersaTiles Advancing Beginner Set:
CHOKING HAZARD -- Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.
hand2mind BOB Books Reading Readiness Water Workbook Set:
These items were put in multiple kits; therefore, the particular number and kind of workbook in this kit may vary slightly from the Amazon description.
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.
Description from Lakeshore:
Recommended Age
3 yrs. - 5 yrs. / Preschool - Kindergarten
Description
We’ve packed fun language practice into these take-home packs...
with engaging games both children and parents will love! Each pack includes everything families need to play a language game to practice rhyming, vocabulary and more. Plus, each pack comes with a simple, step-by-step instruction card in English and Spanish…so busy families can jump right in! Complete set includes all 8 packs shown. Each pack also available separately.
Item # GG640X
Additional Information
Develops skills in recognizing sight-words, retelling simple stories, recognizing rhyming sounds, recognizing and counting syllables, identifying letters, learning beginning sounds, building vocabulary, recognizing opposites and building simple words.
WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD - Small parts. Not for children under 3 years.
Library Information: Checkouts are for three weeks. Kits should be returned directly back to the Central Birmingham Public Library Youth Departments or, in the case of teachers or organizations, returns should be coordinated with library staff. Please do not leave in the drop off boxes.